Drive Electric Appalachian Highlands

Northeast region of Tennessee, County map
Drive Electric Appalachian Highlands
People seeing electric vehicles at Drive Electric Earth Day Event
DE Appalachian Highlands at the summer 2022 "Cars & Coffee After Dark" in Johnson City.
DE Appalachian Highlands leadership including 2nd from left Victor Sherwood and far right David Hrivnak.

DE Appalachian Highlands (DEAH) Info

Area: Northeast Tennessee, including the surrounding communities in southwest Virginia and northwestern North Carolina.

Counties covered: Hancock, Hawkins, Cocke, Greene, Washington, Sullivan, Carter, Unicoi, Johnson

Story: In early 2021, multiple partners stepped up to help form this Chapter. Jan Compton of TDEC’s Johnson City Environmental Field Office, Bonnie Donnolly of BrightRidge and David Hrivnak – a stalwart EV advocate from Kingsport – helped bring together others to support the Chapter’s development. In 2022, Victor Sherwood started getting heavily involved developing event opportunities in the area, acquired a Kia EV6 GT Line, and became a co-chair – thanks Victor!

Facebook Group: Drive Electric Appalachian Highlands (join now!)

Media/Event links: Cars & Coffee After Dark (Johnson City, 6/22), DEED 2021 Bristol, DEED 2021 Kingsport

DEAH Chapter Members

    Chris Bress – Tesla Model X
    Kenny Dick – Tesla Model 3
    Mark DiLuciano – Chevy Bolt
    Wes Franklin – Nissan Leaf
    John Frey – Nissan Leaf
    Adam Gray – Tesla Model 3
    Derek Guske – Mercedes-Benz B250e
    Keith Halberg – Chevy Volt
    Bill Horton – Ford Mustang MachE
    Brenda Hrivnak – RAV4 Prime
    David Hrivnak – Tesla Model 3
    Marti Morenings – Tesla Model Y
    Jacob Ratliff – Tesla Model 3
    David Riggs – Nissan Leaf
    Ken Roberts – BMW i3 REx
    Michael & Karen Trepiccione – Tesla Model 3
    Tim Henley, City of Johnson City
    Clayton Dowell, Bristol TN Essential Services
    Jeff Dykes, BrightRidge
    Sam Ford, BrightRidge
    Ted Jackson, Green Interfaith Network
    Jodi Jones, Washington County Commissioner
    Chris Quillen, TVA
    Jason Smith, Appalachian Electric Power
    Paul Sutton, Renewable Energy
    Brandy Lemieux